SEARCH THE CATALOG
My Library Account Login

Library Home
About the Library
Annual Report 2014-2015
Library Cards
Locations
Policies
Press Releases
Book Lovers Page
Classes and Programs
Adults
Calendar
Children
Digital Literacy
Discover Studio
Teens
Tweens
Contact Us
Feedback Form
Request a Title
Room Requests
Visitor Satisfaction Survey
eLibrary
Research
Book a Librarian
Community Resources
Homework Help
Interlibrary Loan
Internet Resources
Research Databases
Support the Library
Giving

Research Databases:
Subject List

 

The Boca Raton Public Library pays subscription fees in order to provide its patrons with access to a variety of online resources. Links to these resources are arranged on this page in two ways, by subject and alphabetically by title. All of these resources are accessible at the Library. Many of these resources are also accessible using an Internet connection outside of the Library, provided that you have a valid Boca Raton Public Library card.

Biography
Business, Investments, and Jobs
Books and Literary Criticism
Consumer Information
Florida eGovernment
Genealogy
General Reference
Geography
Health and Medicine

History
Language Learning/ESL Resources
Magazine and Journal Articles
Newspapers
Online Learning
Recursos en Español
Science and Technology
Social Issues

 

Alphabetic List of Research Databases


 
NOTICE:
The online resources that are accessible through the Library contain material that is subject to the Copyright Law of the United States (Title 17, U.S. Code). This Law governs the making of copies or other reproductions, including digital reproductions, of copyrighted material. The person using these resources is responsible for any infringement.
BIOGRAPHY (Top)

Biography in Context: Contains profiles, citations to magazine articles, and links to Web sites providing biographical information about notable people from around the world, throughout history, and from all walks of life.

New York Times: Historical Collection: A digital archive of full-text articles, with images, from the New York Times from 1851 through 2001.

BOOKS AND LITERARY CRITICISM (Top)

EBSCOHost eBook Collection: Contains the full text of more than 31,000 books in digital format.

Literary Reference Center: A collection of articles from periodicals and reference books covering books, authors, and all aspects of Literature. Includes full-text reviews, essays, biographies, and criticism. Also includes plot summaries, poems, plays, short stories, and classic texts.

LitFinder: Covering world literature and authors throughout history, LitFinder contains a wealth of literary works including over 150,000 full-text poems and 800,000+ poetry citations, as well as short stories, speeches, and plays. For students or patrons seeking a deeper view into literature, LitFinder also includes secondary materials like biographies, images, and more.

NoveList Plus: An online reader's advisory service that contains a listing of over 120,000 fiction titles categorized by subject and genre. Also includes over 90,000 book reviews.

BUSINESS, INVESTMENTS, AND JOBS (Top)

Career Transitions: This resource provides tips and advice on all aspects of the job-search process, including conducting a job search, preparing a resume and cover letter, assessing your career interests, exploring potential careers, locating vocational training schools, and preparing for an interview.

Gale Business Collection: Contains reports and articles about business, industry, management, economics, and politics in full-text format. Many articles also contain images.

LearningExpress Library: A collection of practice tests, study guides, tutorials and more on a wide variety of topics, including: public speaking, writing and grammar, GED, ACT, SAT, GRE, LSAT, MCAT, popular software, job searching, workplace skills, TOEIC, U.S. citizenship, civil service exams and licensing and certification preparation. Designed for students of all ages, in English and Spanish. First time users will need to create an account.

Morningstar Investment Research Center: An investment research tool from Morningstar, a highly respected financial and investing publisher. It provides detailed financial information on all stocks traded on the New York Stock Exchange, NASDAQ, and American Stock Exchange, as well as thousands of mutual funds. Also included are tools for the evaluation of investments, tools for the evaluation of investment portfolios, financial tutorials, and access to Morningstar newsletters.

ReferenceUSA: A powerful online directory providing information on over 17 million U.S. businesses and over 200 million U.S. households. The residential information comes primarily from the telephone white pages. The business information is gathered from not only the white pages and the yellow pages of the nation's telephone directories, but also from government data, trade publications, the Internet, and local newspapers. Millions of telephone calls are made by ReferenceUSA annually to verify the accuracy of the information contained in their database. This is a useful tool for anyone doing market research, conducting job searches, creating customer lists, or seeking contact information for a specific person or business.

Small Business Collection: Provides insights, tips, strategies and success stories. Users will find hundreds of full text subject-appropriate periodicals.

Small Business Resource Center: This resource is an unmatched source of information for the entrepreneurial community that covers all major aspects of starting, managing, financing, marketing, and operating a small business. It contains full-text books and journal articles that will be of interest to an existing or aspiring small business owner as well as hundreds of sample business plans.

Value Line Investment Survey: This database is a unique source of financial information designed to help investors make informed investment decisions. It includes business descriptions, financial data, statistics, analysis, and evaluations of select companies and industries. The same 3,500 stocks that are included in the print versions of the Value Line Investment Survey - Standard Edition and the Value Line Investment Survey - Small & Mid-Cap Edition are covered in this database.
*Value Line is brought to you by a contribution from The Friends of the Boca Raton Public Library.*

CONSUMER INFORMATION (Top)

ChiltonLibrary: This database is an online collection of the notable Chilton Repair Manuals. It provides quick online access to repair, maintenance, and specifications data on domestic and foreign cars, trucks, and vans. It covers models from 1940 to the present with monthly updates. Diagnostic trouble codes, descriptions, probable causes, step-by-step routines, specifications, and troubleshooting guides insure that do-it-yourselfers have all of the information that they need to repair and maintain their vehicles.

ConsumerReports.org: The online version of the well-known magazine published by Consumers Union. It features ratings, recommendations, and reviews on thousands of products and services in a variety of categories including appliances, cars, electronics and computers, home and garden, health and fitness, babies and kids, food, personal finance, and travel. This resource includes ratings, recommendations, and reports from the most current issue of Consumer Reports and a searchable archive of the magazine’s contents from the past four years.

FLORIDA eGOVERNMENT (Top)

CareerSource Palm Beach County
MyFLFamilies.com - Food, Medical Assistance, Cash
Supervisor of Elections
Unemployment Claims

GENEALOGY (Top)

Ancestry LE: An enhanced version of AncestryPlus, this database contains genealogical information from thousands of sources, including death indexes and census records. Claims to index more than 1 billion names. (in-Library use only)

HeritageQuest Online: Contains a unique collection of research materials, including all available U.S. Census records, for tracing and researching family history and American culture. Includes indexes and original page images for all documents.

ProQuest Obituaries: More than 10 million obituaries and death notices in full-image format from historical archives and top newspapers. Entries date as far back as 1851 and cover all regions of the United States. Obituaries provide valuable clues that can significantly enhance genealogical research.

GENERAL REFERENCE/INFORMATION (Top)

Academic OneFile: Provides peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources. With extensive coverage of all academic disciplines, Academic OneFile is authoritative and comprehensive. Millions of articles available in both PDF and HTML full-text with no restrictions, including full-text coverage of the New York Times since 1995. Updated daily.

Gale Virtual Reference Library eBook Collection: A database of encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference resources for multidisciplinary research. These reference materials were once accessible only in the library, but now you can access them online from the library, or remotely 24/7.

General OneFile Periodicals Collection: A collection of millions of magazine and newspaper articles, many full text with images, covering a wide range of topics. The database is updated daily.

General Reference Center Gold: A database containing articles on a variety of subjects, dating from 1980 to the present, taken from reference books, newspapers, and magazines. Many articles contain full text and images.

Grolier Online Encyclopedia: Includes Encyclopedia Americana, Grolier Multimedia Encyclopedia, The New Book of Knowledge, Nueva enciclopedia Cumbre en línea, The New Book of Popular Science, and Lands and Peoples.

WorldCat: A union list of the books and other materials available at most of the major public and academic libraries of the United States.

GEOGRAPHY (Top)

Grolier Online: Lands and Peoples: An online version of the notable print publication, this resource contains articles and information on countries, cultures, and current events, a collection of Internet links related to the articles, and a collection of hundreds of maps. Using this resource, a student can compare the land, people, economy, history, or facts and figures of any two continents, counties, or states/provinces.

HEALTH AND MEDICINE (Top)

Health & Wellness Resource Center: A database containing articles from books, magazines, and newspapers pertaining to all aspects of health and medicine, including a module on alternative medicine and a variety of health assessment tools. Also includes links to Internet sites containing materials and sources relevant to health and medicine. These materials are intended for a general audience. The material in this database is intended for informational purposes only.

HISTORY (Top)

History Reference Center: This database includes full-text entries from over 190 journals and over 2,000 books on the topic of History. Also includes biographies, photos, maps, video, and historical documents.

LANGUAGE LEARNING/ESL RESOURCES (Top)

Transparent Language Online: A complete language-learning program that offers instruction in 100+ languages through effective, fun, and engaging courses for students at all levels. This program also includes an extensive English collection, with English materials for speakers of 25+ languages, an intermediate-level immersion course, and more.

Universal Class™ offers several ESL classes:

  • ESL Basic Grammar and Writing
  • ESL Basic Writing Skills
  • ESL Basic Grammar
  • ESL Grammar Skills Level 1 through Level 5
*Universal Class™ is brought to you by a contribution from The Friends of the Boca Raton Public Library.*
MAGAZINE AND JOURNAL ARTICLES (Top)

ArticleFirst: An index to periodical articles covering a variety of subjects.

Gale Business Collection: A database containing reports and articles about business, industry, management, economics, and politics in full-text format. Many articles also contain images.

General OneFile Periodicals Collection: A collection of millions of magazine and newspaper articles, many full text with images, covering a wide range of topics. The database is updated daily.

General Reference Center Gold: A database containing articles, dating from 1980 to the present, on a variety of subjects taken from reference books, newspapers, and magazines. Many articles contain full text and images.

MasterFile Elite Periodicals Collection: This is a comprehensive collection of current and historical full-text magazine and journal articles. Topics covered include business, health, science, education, culture, current events, and more. Articles come from more than 1,000 periodicals that include Time, U.S. News & World Report, Business Week, Forbes, Fortune, Sports Illustrated, and People.

NEWSPAPERS (Top)

The New York Times: Historical: A digital archive of full-text articles, with images, from the New York Times from 1851 through 2001.

ProQuest Newsstand: An online resource consisting of an archive of the full text of two South Florida newspapers, the South Florida Sun Sentinel, covering the period 1/1/1985 to the present; and the Palm Beach Post, covering the period 1/1/1996 to the present.

ONLINE LEARNING (Top)

LearningExpress Library: A collection of practice tests, study guides, tutorials and more on a wide variety of topics, including: public speaking, writing and grammar, GED, ACT, SAT, GRE, LSAT, MCAT, popular software, job searching, workplace skills, TOEIC, U.S. citizenship, civil service exams and licensing and certification preparation. Designed for students of all ages, in English and Spanish. First time users will need to create an account.

Lynda.com: Includes engaging video-based instruction for business, creative, and technology subjects. There are thousands of courses and video tutorials available for all skill levels. Take a full course or look up quick tips to get you on your way!

Universal Class™: Learn something new today. The BRPL offers over 500 free online continuing education classes through Universal Class™. These self-paced, non-credit personal and professional development classes are led by real instructors who will give you continuous feedback on your progress. The diverse range of subjects include computers, resumé writing, business, home and garden, health and medicine, hobbies, and more.

*Universal Class™ and Lynda.com are brought to you by a contribution from The Friends of the Library.*

RECURSOS EN ESPAÑOL (Principio de la página)

Grolier Online: La Nueva Enciclopedia Cumbre: Un recuso para estudiantes a partir del sexto grado en adelante. Contiene 17,000 artículos con la información mas corriente sobre la geografía, historia, literatura, ciencias, sociedad, cultura, tecnología, el arte y el deporte, e incluye un atlas mundial. Aula de Español ofrece a estudiantes de Español un recurso para mejorar su uso del idioma.

¡Informe! Una colección de revistas hispánicas con textos completos. Abarca negocios, salud, tecnología, cultura, temas de actualidad y otras materias.

SCIENCE AND TECHNOLOGY (Top)

Grolier Online: The New Book of Popular Science: Provides scientific facts, news, biographies, experiments, and links to relevant Web sites. This resource is designed for students in middle school and high school.

SOCIAL ISSUES (Top)

Opposing Viewpoints in Context: A collection of full-text articles and essays on current social issues with materials presented for each topic’s proponents and detractors. Particularly useful to students.